Minutes, 3 September 1837

& John Smith for assistant councillors &  carried by a unanimous voice of the church  these last four are allso, together with the  first three to be concidered the heads of the  Church Voted that N[ewel] K Whitney continue  to act as Bishop of this Church in Kirtland  Voted that R[eynolds] Cahoon & Vincon [Vinson] Knight be  councillors to the Bishop The question was  then asked the church if the Twelve apostles  should hold their office of Apostleship  They were named by the President individually  Voted that Thomas. B. Marsh David W. Patten  Brigham Young Heber C. Kimble [Kimball] Orson Hyde  P[arley] P. Pratt Orson Pratt William Smith Wm  E. McLellin should retain their office of  apostleship; Luke Johnson, Lyman Johnson  John F Boyngton [Boynton], were rejected from serving  in that office Privilege was given to those  that were rejected of making their confession  if they had any to make. Elder Boyngton  -[which was the onley one present at the time]-  arose and parsailly [partially] confessed his sins  and partly justifying his conduct by  reason of the failure of the bank, his  acknowledgments appeared not to be sat isfactory, his conduct was strongly prote sted against, by Elder Brigham Young  in a plain and energetick manner  stating various reasons why he could  not receive him into fellowship untill  a hearty repentance was manifested, the  Elder <Young> was followed by Elder Marsh who  acquiesed in testimony, and allso dis fellowshiped the conduct of Elder Boyngton [p. 235]
Minutes, Kirtland, OH, 3 Sept. 1837; handwriting of George W. Robinson; in Minute Book 1, pp. 234–238; CHL.